“History doesn’t repeat itself, but it does rhyme.”
— Mark Twain

Talking Old Shanghai in Arlington with Scott Tong – One More Page, Arlington VA, Monday 7pm

Posted: July 16th, 2018 | No Comments »

Delighted to be going back to One More Page in Arlington on Monday evening to talk about City of Devils and to do so with Marketplace’s Scott Tong (whose book A Village With My Name was a standout China title last year)…

Monday, July 16 @7PM

Historian Paul French in conversation w/ journalist Scott Tong (A VILLAGE WITH MY NAME) about French’s new book CITY OF DEVILS: THE TWO MEN WHO RULED THE UNDERWORLD OF SHANGHAI. Perfect for readers of Erik Larson & Karen Abbott, CITY OF DEVILS is a rags-to-riches tale of two self-made men set against a backdrop of crime and vice in the sprawling badlands of 1930s Shanghai.

More details here

 

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter


Leave a Reply